Controlling lag or finding its source?

Obbiscuit

Hi.

I'm opening a server soon (advertising) but first I want to pick out whatever problems I might run into in the hopefully-not-near future.

Having had the server open to my old players from my last server only, I've run into a slight problem with lag. Most of this is due to factories, and no amount of "text warned control" (putting warnings in spawn, having rules over the control of factories) has helped at all.

I'm not very good with computers, but I've upgraded my RAM to 16GB, 13 for the server, and this problem has been lessoned, but not stopped. Do I have to restrict factories to the point of no return, or is there another method of control?

A plugin I have (tekkitrestrict) has a minimum for timers, but that does not help with transport pipes and engines, and it would also annoy players. My aim for the server is to have few banned items, excluding the exploit/bugged items. Any suggestions for that?

I expect sometime while I have the server open that people would *try* to annoy me by placing a bunch of .2s timers and lagging it extremely.

If this were to happen, is there a method to find the lag-source and stop it? Or do I have to rely on the lagged chunk or server logs of the use of wrenches to find it?

Any advice, or other things I should look out for would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou,

Obbiscuit.

TL;DR:

How do I stop people from building lagful factories, and how would I locate the lag source if necessary?

Teach people about loops, how to avoid them, and the impact they have on the server.

Your "LAG" issues are far more likely to come from CPU or I/O bottlenecking, than a lack of RAM, there are plenty of servers that have 16-32GB of RAM 50 players and <5TPS.