Please clue me in as to what I'm doing wrong

Grantypoo

I want to automate my ore handling. Right now I have a quarry run, it transfers through an item tesseract to my base. I used pipes and diamond pipes to route everything to chests.

At this point, in the old Tekkit (which I havent played for almost a year) I would have redstone filters I think they were called that pulled from the chests and put the ore into a macerator and went from there.

I see nothing like that in the new Tekkit. I set up a Pulverizer, that was easy, but I cant figure out a good way to automatically place items into it in a timely manner. I've tried setting up a engine on a pipe between the chest and the pulverizer, sure that works, but the pipe floods with items then starts spitting out onto the ground.

What am I doing wrong? What piece of equipment do I need to automate grabbing items from a container and moving them to a pulverizer and other like machinery, without overflowing?

Again, I'm new to the new Tekkit and the mods it added. I dont need a super detailed explanation, but a point in the right direction would be great. All these YouTube videos for "automating" a pulverizer just show someone manually dropping in stacks of 64 items, and I dont want to do that, that isnt automated at all to me, all they are doing is automating the output to a container.

Take a look at the Applied Energistics mod (http://ae-mod.info/ME-Network/). Once you have a network set up, you can insert your items (I put in my quarry items via an Item Tesseract/ME Interface). Then use one of the flavors of the ME Export Bus to put items into the machines. An ME Interface or ME Import Bus can pull the items back into your network. If you need more details or have questions, feel free to ask.

Yep, Applied Energistics (http://wiki.technicpack.net/Applied_Energistics) is a great way to go, though resource-intensive to start out.