Certain Features Missing

plasticcap

I have been playing some of the other modpacks, and they seem to work fine. But i just started playing tekkit, and there seem to be a few specific things missing. The first one i noticed is that nothing happens when i put iron ingot in a furnace, no refined iron is smelted. Also, i can't craft a treetap. Is one mod missing, and if so why and what should i do? i thought it was an old version, but its supposed to autoupdate. Any thoughts would be appreciated

Those things are missing because the mod they are from isn't part of the pack. :P

Tekkit is quite different from Tekkit Lite, Tekkit Classic, FTB, etc. and takes some getting used to, but give it a chance. The feel is very different (Less early game content- Pneumatic tubes, barrels, etc.) but everything is equally possible.

At the very basic level, use what gets the job done. Start with steam engines (not Sterling they're volatile and Redstone engines won't work at all for power generation but they can power pumps for your water supply, albeit slowly) and conductive pipes. Wooden conductive pipes are required to connect the engines to the rest of your piping which can be either stone or gold conductive pipes which has to simply touch the machine you're trying to power (in most cases, a very small amount of machines allow power only on certain sides). You can burn the coal / charcoal that you find / make. You can use makeshift batteries to store small amounts of power for later use. While there's no risk of explosion with steam engines it's still a good idea to at least attach a lever so you can switch them off when you don't need them so you save juice and resources.