Server Help

Tamanor

Hi 

So basically I want to make a server for me and about 3 / 6 friends so I decided to get out my old computer from the attic Specs:

CPU : AMD Phenom 8400 triple-core processor

RAM: 8GB DDR2

MBoard: GA-MA785GM0US2H

Now I have set up the server with Ubuntu and got my friend to help set up the server as I'm a noob to Linux XD but any ways when I run the server it all runs Ok but the CPU spikes between 30% and 100% and I have noticed when it goes over 100% the server says that it Can't keep up and then there massive lag. so I have decided that I will have to upgrade the CPU and was wondering that if I bought a:

AMD Phenom 2 X4 925 would it fix / help with the CPU usage or is that CPU still not good enough ? and if that is still not good enough what would you recommend I get 

Thanks

1. The modpack is a custom one me and my friends have put together

2. Java Version is 1.7.0_76

3. Yes I installed 64-bit java

4. Not sure what make but it a 80-Gb Hard Drive

5. And Atm I have 4Gb allocated to the server and from htop it shows it only uses about 3gb

Edited by Tamanor

• Discord Moderator
  • Chocolate Quest, Mo' Creatures and Roguelike Dungeons can all add a fair amount of world generation load by themselves. Used together it can be brutal during new chunk generation. The high entity counts with custom movement generated by all of them can dramatically increase the server CPU load.
  • Your current CPU and a 925 are so close as to be the same in the context of MC server hosting. Upgrading to a 925 will buy you nothing.
  • Is the CPU load high all the time, or only during heavy world generation?

• Discord Moderator

The CPU will always be a contributor, but the MC server will be hitting nearly every component in the system. I would rank them thusly:

1. CPU single core speed
  2. Memory speed (you want low latency, high bus rate)
  3. Disk speed/performance (NCQ is highly important)