Java14.0.2 is known to have issues with Minecraft.

SBPomeroy26

Question

If I have this in the wrong place (ie it is a launcher issue) please note that I did search and saw this question in the launcher section but it was locked due to not being a launcher issue.

I have installed the launcher and installed Hexxit. When I click on the Play Button in the launcher a message box comes up with this:

Unsupported Java Version

You've selected Java 14.0.2, which is known to have issues with Minecraft. Are you sure you want to Continue?

No.     Yes.

Assuming my Java needed updating, I went ahead and updated my java (Recommended Version 8 Update 271 per https://www.java.com/en/download/) and even restarted the MAC. However,  both ways I get that message and if i indicate to continue, a window opens and remains white and nothing seems to be happening.  

I am new to MAC so please bear with me in resolving this.

Any suggestions?

8 answers to this question

You'll have to actually remove java 14 and 8u271, and use 8u251 instead.

Link to 8u251: https://javadl.oracle.com/webapps/download/GetFile/1.8.0_251-b08/3d5a2bb8f8d4428bbe94aed7ec7ae784/unix-i586/jdk-8u251-macosx-x64.dmg

How to remove java 14:

Forge and Minecraft do not support Java 9+.

Follow either the manual or script instructions to remove it and replace with Java 8: Script

1. Close the Technic Launcher. It cannot be running!

2. Download this file: https://download.uskarian.net/scripts/mac-delete-java9.command

3. Open terminal

4. Copy and paste:

chmod +x ~/Downloads/mac-delete-java9.command

5. Copy and paste:

sudo ~/Downloads/mac-delete-java9.command

If it asks you for your password then type in your password.  You will not see text being entered as your type, but it is being entered! Once you've typed your password hit enter on your keyboard.