[REQUEST] Towny and Worldguard Mods for Anti-Griefing

couchguy987

Summary: Please add Towny and Worldguard to Tekkit.

http://forums.bukkit.org/threads/sec-fun-info-chat-tp-towny-advanced-v0-79-0-0-land-control-and-town-management-1846.25101/

http://forums.bukkit.org/threads/sec-worldguard-5-3-block-fire-ice-melt-mushrooms-advanced-fast-area-protect-blacklist-1185.790/

I've mentioned elsewhere that I'm currently a server admin on a Tekkit SMP server (don't worry, I won't blatantly advertise, if you're really curious read my post history).

So, we've installed various mods such as Towny for the purpose of making anti-griefing a lot easier.

http://xshade.ca/projects/towny/

However, we've noticed that there are various blocks/tools/weapons that aren't protected/protected against by towny, such as any blocks that are non-vanilla, especially industrialcraft and buildcraft. Most notably, the Industrialcraft Mining Laser, Industrial Nuke, and both variations of dynamite (regular and sticky) will break blocks that are supposedly protected by towny, due to the way that they break blocks.

Worldguard is another such anti-griefing mod.

http://www.sk89q.com/projects/worldguard/

We haven't tested it much yet, but I imagine we'll see much the same results as with towny (unprotected blocks/tools/weapons). We intend to use both mods in conjuction on the server.

So, are the Technicpack devs aware of these two mods, and are there any plans to add them to Tekkit in the future, and further, to provide comprehensive protections for items in all tekkit mods under both towny and worldguard?

I think the main reason its not been added is they simply do not work properly with tekkit, As you mentioned they do not protect none-vanilla Blocks. They also do not stop you from break the blocks in protected areas with items such as a mining laser, This is an issue with bukkit not having the correct hooks for tekkit items. This isnt something you can easily fix.