Everything portforwarded correctly yet my friends still cannot join? baffled.

Collymog

Hi all,

Sorry if this is in the wrong section but I've not posted here many times before.

Basically I have had a tekkit server for around 18months and I haven't played since Christmas, I started playing again this week I updated the client on tuesday and downloaded the most recent server files also. My ip had changed and I gave this to my friends who were joining the server and after a lot of faffing around I managed to get it working and we all joined it.

However last night neither of my friends could join the server, the server is opened for me (using the ipv4 address) but not if i use my ip found by typing "What's my IP into google". I factory reset my router, gave my friends the new ip that was generated and still nothing, I deleted the portforwarding settings and re-forwarded them and still nothing, turned off the firewall settings and then that seemed to work for a little while before it then kicked them both off again. I followed all the prior steps again and nothing worked this time round.

Today I logged in by myself and the server still works for me but if i try and access it via the other IP it didn't work so I turned off windows firewall and hey presto it worked for me. Now a few hours later and my brother wants to join but it keeps telling him that he cannot reach the server. I've switched between both the windows and router firewalls being on and off, redone the portforwarding settings, tried to set Tekkit to be allowed through the windows firewall, redownloaded the server files and as a long shot redownloaded the entire technic pack too and I still have nothing.

If it helps at all my server whenever i click anything in the multiplayer menu spazzes out with the message:

2014-08-01 18:45:48 [sEVERE] [Minecraft-Server] Reached end of stream for /192.168.1.64

Anyone have any ideas? I'm supposed to be recording tonight and I can't due to this stupid problem.