Combustion Engine issue

Pyros

Hello,

I am pretty new to all this so I did not want to post in the bug forum as I assume it is user error.

Everything was running fine having a blast until I tried to setup a combustion engine, so this is what I did and I need someone to tell me why it is not working please.

Combustion engine put down and filled with water and oil via buckets , lever on wall next to it, a wooden conductive pipe affixed to the top (blue bit), use the lever and combustion engine does its animation but interestingly unlike all the videos I have seen no fine blue light.

At this point I assume it is because I did not connect pipes to something I want to run.

Using golden conductive pipe I try to link from the wooden conductive pipe to a MFE unit It does not seem to connect but maybe that is just a graphical issue I just take the golden pipe closest to one of the blank faces (the one with the brown circle is the output I believe), nothing happens.

What am I doing wrong ?

You need to have the golden conductive pipe going in to an energy link, and from that some cables going in to the MFE, because buildcraft energy and IC2 energy are different, thats why you need an Energy link, hope this helps.

The Energy Link is only for EU->MJ conversion. You're looking for the Engine Generator buddy.

And yes, the face with the brown dot is the output side for IC2 cables. Remember to use a LV transformer right if you hook this up to your LV machines!

Combustion engines are a pretty terrible way to make EUs anyway.

I suggest simply building a plain generator and burning your coal or whatever in that, hooked directly to your MFE.

Edit: sorry, I confused steam engines and combustion engines. Still, fuel -> EU is not a great way to start for beginners. I'd still stick to one mod only, for now

Thank you all this worked, managed to get 4 combustion engines working, cooled and all fun stuff like teleport pipes.