Forestry in violation of public license? (Update: Apparantly not.)

Skuli

I normally wouldn't care this much, but the general asshattery and smug self-satisfaction in the Forestry thread has me annoyed.

http://www.mod-buildcraft.com/download/buildcraft-for-minecraft-1-0-0/

Buildcraft is licensed under some sort of GPL-esque public license.

I took a look at some of the .class files and FakePlayer.class is virtually identical between Forestry and Buildcraft, and Forestry outright includes a ton of the Buildcraft API files.

I don't believe simply including the API files is a violation, and it's possible Buildcraft and Forestry's FakePlayer.class has been derived from some other common source which is more freely licensed, I'm not a developer and I have no idea of FakePlayer.class's pedigree...

For anyone who's interested, I ran "strings FakePlayer.class > FakePlayer.out" on both the files and then "diff -y" the two files...

Re: Forestry in violation of the Buildcraft Minecraft Mod Public License?

What's the point of this line of inquiry? Is this a vindictive attempt to get SirSengir in some kind legal trouble because he is mean to Tekkit? I don't see the point. This isn't going to benefit anyone. We can't blackmail him into letting his mod into the pack, and if we somehow were to succeed in causing him legal problems it would really just hurt the entire MC modding community by setting a precedent of legal reprocussions for making mods and lots of other ugliness. At any rate, it would require the BC creators to actually want to pursue legal action against him and since he actually works with the BC creators I doubt that would happen.

Yeah, it sucks that SirSengir isn't more open to having his mod included in the modpack but we don't need to implode the entire mod community over it. It's not really a good idea either to start drawing attention to the legal vagaries of one mod when this modpack itself sits in a legal gray area with copyright.