Why no uranium by default? (In SSP or SMP)

AnotherFineMess

Please note: This post is NOT about the lack of uranium in world creation. It's about the logic to the default being set to false.

My attitude may seem strange here but I'm very new to even vanilla MC as well as any mods. I may not understand how this community disseminates information and thus I'm missing the obvious so I'm sorry to repost if this has been asked but I was unable to find anyone addressing my question. I was, however, able to find the "solution" to my problem of there being no uranium in my worlds. I believe there are two changes to make in the config for atomicscience. One allows ore to exist and the other makes it radioactive. I'll switch those to true and get to digging in a new chunk.

What I have not been able to wrap my head around is why at least non-radioactive uranium ore is not set to true by default. I work from the assumption that the makers of the mod allow for tweaking values that can change the balance of game play and that maybe repackagers like technicpack may tweak again due to rebalance the game play in light of the other mods they know they have included. Sounds cool to me.

I always like to play a mod "as shipped" thinking it is how the mod designers first wanted me to experience the new world. For example, when I play console games, I try to start on what the designers made for "normal" or "hard" play. I can adjust up or down after first seeing the game as they first delivered. I'd hate to find I have to go into a preference setting on a new game and turn on "weapons do damage", for example.

If I had found some sort of official "getting started" text on the web site for the atomic science mod that said "when you ready to play with our mod, you will first have to switch on uranium ore creation and radiation by...."