New to Technic - What Now?

Gamerkd

Hello,

I've been developing a server for the past 4 years on Minecraft classic but since that is now dying I'm looking for a new place. I've heard good things about Technic but the problem is I don't even know what Technic is. I assumed it was like Steam and the client downloads the mods when you enter a server but apparently it looks like you need to know the server first, and then download their modpack, and then open that modded Minecraft, and direct connect via IP. Is this correct? Is there no server list and you have to do manual advertising?

The project Technic looks incredibly massive. Which is why I was surprised how impossible it is to find any documentation for it. I checked the wiki, various forums, even the homepage. Nothing that introduces you to Technic and how it works. And I'm not talking about how to create a mod pack (though I will want to learn that eventually as well).

I see these mod six modpacks: Tekkit, Hexxit, Voltz, etc. Are these the only ones you can use? What makes these ones so special?  Are all of these just a collection of mods in a pack? And then you can take that pack and add more mods to it to make it your own? Or would adding more mods to it make it into a new mod pack? What if the mods were only server side. Would it require a new mod pack? If I was completely oblivious to this documentation then I am sorry.

I'm not some 9 year old who doesn't know what they are doing. I'm a 25 year old Java developer who wants to get started but just needs a nudge in some direction. Once I got that I'm off on my own.

Thank you.

Edited by Gamerkd

• Discord Moderator

Technic is multiple things:

1. An organization which develops and maintains Launcher and a Platform which provides access to modpacks.
  2. A group which creates and maintains a number of modpacks which are distributed through the platform.
  3. A platform which users may use to provide access to custom modpacks they have created.