HELP: 2x2 Hidden Door with Redpower

Myrilla

I have been trying to think of the best way to make a 2x2 sticky piston hidden door using Redpower. I tried this tutorial but this guy is so hard to follow that I couldn't even make the basic redstone door he demonstrates, much less convert it into a smaller footprint using RedPower.

Anyone got a good, simple blueprint for how to accomplish this?

Isn't a timing mechanism required as well to make sure that certain pistons activate before others?

My big problem is that RP wire behaves slightly different than redstone powder. I am not very good at understanding how either work in 3D.

I know RP should be able to make this very simple but I can't figure out how to put it together myself. I was hoping for something like a template or a map file where someone can show me a working one.

Here's some pics.

1st pic : shows the positioning of the xor gate.

2nd pic : same thing with it's inputs

3rd pic : how the pistons are wired.

When the xor gate has one active input, the doors will be closed.

When the xor gate has 0 or 2 active inputs, the doors will be open.

I just threw this together, you can modify the location of everything to suit your space requirements.

Got it to work but it's ALOT more awkward doing it horizontally, since pistons can be powered in ways I hadn't imagined were possible.. but I got it working. It still takes up ALOT of room but I used a toggle gate to make some easily hidden buttons open the door.

Got it to work but it's ALOT more awkward doing it horizontally, since pistons can be powered in ways I hadn't imagined were possible.. but I got it working. It still takes up ALOT of room but I used a toggle gate to make some easily hidden buttons open the door.

what's a toggle gate?

what's a toggle gate?

It is a gate that switches power to either side of it when it is powered on front or back

ex. signal-left

input front

then signal right.

----------------------