Stupid n00b questions

Diddums

Hello everyone!

I'm still fairly new to Tekkit and the magic it holds within. I have just set up a configuration of 8 solar arrays which feed into a building below, and into an MFE unit. From the MFE, it runs to a quarry outside. This is all connected using glassfibre cable. As it is now, the only way I can store up energy is to remove a part of the cable. I was wondering if there's a way to disable the output on the MFE?

I've tried sticking a lever in the cable run, didn't work. I read on some Wikis that it needs a restone signal to disable it, but this doesn't seem to work either. I was up to the point of having a redstone torch right up next to the MFE, and still no luck.

Can anyone offer any advice on this? Is it possible to turn the MFE off, or shall I place a switch in the glassfibre? If that's the only option, what switch would I need?

Thanks for reading!

Alright thanks guys, I'm looking into my options at the moment.

Another issue I'm having is that when I use an advanced wooden pipe to sort things from my quarry, I use one to feed a basic generator with coal. The problem is that the coal always ends up in the top box, so it just sits there. Am I doing something wrong? Is it possible to get it into the bottom hole by default?

Also... is the energy condenser compatible with this system? I've set it up to receive stone, gravel and dirt, with a coal in the top slot. However, the advanced wooden pipe connected to it, which runs to the same generator, keeps sucking out the coal in the top. Is there a way around this too?

Thanks folks, any help is always appreciated!

Alright thanks guys, I'm looking into my options at the moment.