What s better, Setting up my own server, or renting one?

Arrow816

Im kinda new to the whole tekkit server aspect, and I am currently renting a server through beatnode. Its working alright, but is kinda laggy. Im not setting this up to run a huge community site, its mainly for 10-15 of my friends to mess around on, and have a fun time on.

My question is a multiple part question.

1) What is better, building my own server and hosting it on that, or renting one through someone like beastnode or some one?

A) If building my own, what are the specs I should get, or specific servers I should buy?

B) If renting, who is the best(Preferable cheap, but not required) for renting and running a tekkit server?

Thanks,

Steve C

I wouldn't build a dedicated machine for it... but it's always better to run it on your own machine first, so that you understand better how it works and how the server interacts with files etc...

It also depends entirely on your Internet connection.

Check out: http://canihostaminecraftserver.com/ for a rough estimate.

I would highly recommend a VPS service like the one CreeperHost offers. I personally use CreeperHost and have done so for about 3-4months now, to the extent I now actually have three VPS's from them to host my Bukkit, Tekkit server and Feed the Beast servers. They have amazing staff and actually take the time to communicate with the customer. At the moment they are currently looking at running an IRC server specifically to streamline real-time communication.

The control panel can also install a MySQL and Mumble server on your VPS for a small one off fee, or you can freely install it yourself. They put no limitations on what you can or cannot have on your VPS.

I currently have 1 of my VPS's running Tekkit, my website and my MySQL server.

Some pro's:

Great Staff,

Great Service,

No Lagg,

Good choice of server locations,

Great Control Panel,