Universal cable problem?

Lostonexxx

Hey all, Im new to the UE mod, but after someone mentioned the universal cable being a cheaper alternative than redstone conduit, I thought I would try it out.

Im using it on a 3x3 self sustaining biofuel tree farm from mfr. But even if the machines arent working, the cable seems to continuously draw power from the biofuel generator. In effect, all the biofuel is used up, before there are saplings to replace what has been used.

Is the universal cable supposed to work this way?

If it is, then what a load of rubbish, Id rather go back to conductive pipes. If its not, is this a problem with mfr compatibility?

Im on the latest build 1.3.10

I'm not sure about UE cable, but I do know that a generator, or any MJ engine, for that matter, will run forever when connected to a red stone conduit. Any excess MJ not used by whatever is downstream is wasted. To prevent this I hook my generators to a redstone energy cell. A BC pipe of any kind with a red stone gate on it can then be used to emit a signal when the cell is full, which you can use to turn off your engines/generators.

Hmm the conduit shouldnt act like that. It doesnt in tekkit, ftb ultimate, mindcrack or direwolf20. The engines will continue to run, but consume very little fuel. Its designed that way. But Ive never had conduit drawing from biofuel generators when its not needed before. The universal cable draws a staggering amount of energy from a biofuel generator, enough to make a tree farm run out and stop entirely. Other on the server have reported no problems with the cable for windpower and stuff. Nobody Im aware of has them hooked up to biofuel gens though.