Mob Essence and Grinder Help

dlepi24

I've been trying to make an auto spawner work, however, i need mob essence. So, I've set up a grinder powered off steam dynamo in a creative world to test everything out and it kills the first one or two then stops. It has full power, but the Idle bar stops moving and just stays at 200t (I'm guessing its 200 ticks?). I've upgraded to higher power supplies but the power doesn't seem to be the issue? Have any of you set up a successful grinder to extract mob essence yet? If you'd like i could record what I've been trying in a creative world and maybe I'm doing things wrong, I'm not sure. I am new to all of these mods but I've watched several tutorials and different builds and I just cant seem to get the grinders to consistently work. Any ideas or help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Dlepi24

Hmm, the grinder does have an extra waiting time other then the 200 tick idle, mine usually waits like a minute before starting the 200t idle, then it will count down 200t, then kills like 10-20 mobs at 20t intervals, then waits another minute before starting the 200t countdown.

but it looks like yours isn't really working at all, try putting the grinder at the same level of the feet of the mob, right now you have it half a block higher, and try giving it more space so the mobs can spread out, the grinder has a 5x5 kill area in front of it, I give mine 5x2.

Edited by Kr0nZ

Alright, I figured it out. I didn't realize it mattered exactly where you ran your energy in and mob essence out. I had the power going into the top of the grinder and the essence out of the back. I found out you have to have the power and the mob essence each on the side of the grinder for it to continuously work. I figured I'd post this incase anyone made the same mistake as i did. Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

I had the same problem as dlepi24, so thanks for helping me work that out. :)