Tekkit vs Feed the Beast?

dreamer1986

After I started watching direwolf's 20 videos, I noticed he has a mod pack, and that mod pack can be installed with the Feed the Beast Launcher. And this was the first time I heard of this launcher.

Since I am very new to these launchers in general, can you please explain what are the main differences between the two?

When I google searched this topic, I saw discussions comparing the two that are at least one year old, and so, out of date.

Main difference: mods and their count.

Tekkit mods:

http://wiki.technicpack.net/Tekkit

Direwolf20 mods:

https://feedthebeast.atlassian.net/wiki/display/PML/Direwolf20

Edit: FTB is over my head. I wanted to make small steps and not big leaps into deep water so I chose tekkit over FTB.

If you are going to use the FTB launcher you'll need to take a look at the minecraft version that FTB is based on since most popular FTB modpacks are based on older MC version.

Edited by bochen415

Like bochen415 said, FTB packs are often outdated, and they often just pack as many mods as they can. This makes it complicated to start without hours of tutorials, while Tekkit is balanced and easy to start with because in early game you don't have much choice for power generation or automation.

Well, after spending a few hours comparing different modpacks, I see different advantages and disadvantages. Correct me if I'm wrong.

If I want the most mod crowded install, the FTB Monster pack has it all. But I don't know how stable such a huge install can be.

If I want a Magic based install, the most up to date mod pack is the FTB Magic World 2. Hexxit seems outdated, although it looks like it has more stuff fit for adventuring. But Magic World with one of the included Texture Packs and Biomes O Plenty looks awesome. I don't know which one of these is the most fun.

If I want a Technic Sci Fi install, Tekkit seems the best. But I can't seem to see the big differences between it and FTB Tech World.