New to Tekkit; I need advice on a new power source

ShameWillFollow

I just started playing the Tekkit modpack a few days ago, and I think it's time I upgrade my power source. Currently, I'm using a pump along with water strainers to power the few things in my house that need power (macerator, electric furnace, other basic machines), but I realized the energy output of these water strainers is extremely low when I was unable to power an induction furnace successfully. Bottom line: I want to upgrade my power source.

I like the sound of renewable energy sources (water, wind, solar, etc) so I don't want to deal with generators that require constant input of coal, but I'm also not far enough into the game to even consider something like a nuclear reactor. As I see it, my 2 feasible options are solar or geothermal, but I'm not familar with either of them, so I have a few questions:

Can I set up a large enough solar panel farm to generate more than enough energy for the machines in my house? Does a typical lava deposit last for a long time (if I were to pump the lava to a geothermal generator)? Are there other renewable/almost renewable options that I have not thought of?

Basic machines should be fine with 3 solar panels and a BatBox, as long as they're not in constant use. In my current world, and this is the setup I recommend you work towards, I have the Advanced Machines equivalents to the basic machines, and the power comes from 9 LV Solar Arrays. Also, when it rains, I turn on my basic 30 EU/t nuclear reactor. Power is stored in 3 MFSUs and an electrolyser.

For "renewable" options, if you're not against EE, you could use an Energy Condenser to create Charcoal to burn in your generator. If you are, use a tree farm. Charcoal is renewable, and you can just pipe it in with RP tubes or BC pipes.