Rule about use of abandoned mods in a pack?

The_Fireplace

Technic doesn't enforce any rules on Modpack licensing nor do they accept responsibility. If a modder decides to sue you, then that's your problem. If a mod author abandoned the mod, I would still provide a link to the original page, but you can do what you like.

Under no mod license is a modder allowed to sue you. Copyright Infringement is a civil crime, therefore to have a case they need to prove civil (monetary) damages. Also remember it is illegal to force users to pay for use of a mod based on a copyrighted video game. Thus, no modder charges for their mod, therefore there are no monetary damages to prove, ergo they have no case.

I'm no expert, I just like proving to the crew at Feed The Fanboys that their whole approach is misguided. I agree that its nice to have them; if you have respect for the mod author(s) then you should get them to show that respect. However, IMHO, the mod authors who refuse to grant permissions aren't worthy of anything but pity, therefore my pack has permissions for mods when I can get them, and no permissions when I can't.

• Moderators

Under no mod license is a modder allowed to sue you.

A little birdie told me that CovertJaguar actually sued AMCO and Something Awful's Plus++ pack for adding his mod without permission.

There's no such thing as "not allowed to sue". People will sue for the most ridiculous things ever.

The REAL question is: Can they win the case?

No, they can't

But they can definitly sue anyone to their hearts desire.

For their sake, they better not get judge Judy on their case...

A little birdie told me that CovertJaguar actually sued AMCO and Something Awful's Plus++ pack for adding his mod without permission.