Making money / paying for a server

RebelNode

So... this is probably the biggest problem for most server owners, but still there are yet no threads about it. Let's start one.

I have been running a server successfully for over 6 months now. Every month we have gotten just enough donations from players so that I can pay for the server without having to use too much of my own money. I am however very tired of having to worry about it so much every month. Some time ago we used to make it easily every month but lately it has been much harder for whatever reason.

I would like tips from you guys to how I could raise some money to pay for my server. How do you do it? Just get some donations and pay the rest yourself? Advertisements on your website? Have your players do surveys or other shit like that? Hack banned user accounts and sell them on black market? Get funded by the Vatican for telling all the kids on your server about jesus?

I just cannot justify spending 50 €/month on a video game from my own pocket, so as you might guess, I need some better options than the some of the ones above.

Well it depends how much you pay for your server, the more you pay, the more you need to make back. And it really depends, are you running your server/site as a business or are you running it as a hobby?

If you're running it a business, you need much more than just a server. Expand your site, expanding your site will give you more opportunities for monetization. For example, add relevant content. Content brings in visitors, visitors = $$$. Content can be anything, videos, articles, even contests. Remember: content is king.

If you're running it as a hobby (i.e. a video game) then your going to have to expect to shell out some money and go into red zone. But remember, you're enjoying it, it's a hobby, rarely do you not have to spend for a hobby. If someone comes a long and donates, then great, their helping out a little bit.