Best yellowrite 5*5 reactor

Kotja

before i begin i just want to say i am no expert at all and i'm just suggesting stuf here(still i do hope i can help you with that)

5x5 internal space or total space?

in case of total space that would give you a 3x3 area to work with inside. wich case i would say you should make an X form inside with rods(5 rod collums total) and then fill up the remaining space wth coolant(if needed??). should be pretty effective in my opinion. needed: 5 control rods. 5 fuel rod collums. 1 power tap. 1 interface(the computer thingy). and 2 input/output?? maybe 1 input is enough tho.

So you mean your 7x7 reactor with 5x5 interior looks like this?

W = water

C = fuel column

(schematic viewed from topside)

WWWWW

WCWCW

WWWWW

WCWCW

WWWWW

You could try a sparse grid for the columns, like so:

CWWWC

WWCWW

WWWWW

CWWWC

WWCWW

The columns will only heat the blocks touching their four sides directly, iirc. That way, you can cram six columns into 5x5, and unlike the first setup, you will be using your cooling blocks more efficiently. It is just a theory that I still need to test, though. It might be necessary to lower the control rods on the two corner columns a little, as those have only two sides cooled (or expand your setup to 5x6). All the others have three sides cooled, and the middle one even has all four. Note that no two rods have to share their cooling blocks.

P.S.: While running around ~950°C will output the most power, running moderated around ~200°C will output the most power per fuel unit, i.e. run most efficiently.

P.P.S.: Colour-coded the schematic to clarify.

Edited by Curunir

I have 5*5*8 (external) 5 rods gelite cryotheum and rednet setting that turn on and off acording to power buffer (10% and 90%) and signaling that looks like power status in cell phone. (CNST = amount in percent)