Removing dug 64x64 quarries in my server. Best way?

My server of 5 people have excavated some twelve 64x64 quarries. We filled in the top layer of each quarry with dirt, and have subsequently suffered the frame rate consequences of the twelve 64x64 areas of flowing water right underneath us. I need to know a few things:

1. First and most importantly: How do I quickly fill these quarries so that the frame-rate can return to normal? MCEdit? I've never used it before. Any steps to follow would be most appreciated (getting the save file loaded, edited, and exported back to the server, etc).

2. Secondly, should we use dimensional anchors from now on and build the quarries hundreds of tiles away? Will one 9x9 chunk in the center of four 64x64 tile quarries (68 tiles deep) be enough?

Quarries are self-loading last I saw (I placed one and saw it load 25 chunks)

As for filling them, use a filler set-up on the same dimensions (must be a 3d shape unlike the quarries 2d) and have them fill with dirt, will take time and power (and dirt) but should reduce the lag from having the area render and process

I don't know if this will remove the water, you might have to do that by hand

I really just want to fill the quarries in externally through a third party program. The server lag at this point is just too much to do everything manually with Tekkit's fillers.

I just downloaded MCEdit for the first time, loaded up a copy of my server's save file and filled in all the quarries. I moved the unedited save to a safe location and replaced it with the file I just edited and restarted the server. Upon loading up, the server crashes (Crash report). I reverted back to the previous map-save and the server operates normally, with the exception of the low server frame-rate.

How can I prevent the MCedit save from crashing the server upon reset?

Does MCEdit just not work with the latest tekkit lite? It took me 5 minutes to fill 12 quarries and save it.