New computer for tekkit!

Stop mocking me0

Ok first I would like to apologies if I post this in the wrong area... Please call me a noob if I do and dirrect me to the correct area...

But the reason I made this thread was that I plan to get a new computer soon and I was wondering what kind of cheap computer I can get for spesificaly running tekkit, and possibly later on, feed the beast. What kind of graphics card and what type of monitor and everything... I would preffer the price stay below 700 us dollars and I can stretch to below 1000 us dollars... Please? I'm a compleat noob when it comes to computers... I can understand basic string theory... But computers just make no sense...

• Replies 191
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Basically, anything made in the past year should be fine. You'll want at least a dual core processor, quad if you can get it. You want at least 4GB of RAM, preferably 6 or more. At least 500GB hard drive. Windows 7. (Windows 8 is fine if you can stand Metro the interface formerly known as Metro) ATI or Nvidia graphics, either works, but you want at least 1GB video RAM, preferably 2. Monitors? 1440x900 LCD should suit your needs.

For all your computer shopping needs: www.microcenter.com They're really friendly people who would love nothing more than to sell you the computer you need. :)

Don't get a Nvidia card unless you want to fix it for Minecraft. It will work, but might bug out if you play 2D Java games, apparently.

Would you like to stop spreading false info?

Using nVidia cards for two years on Minecraft and not the slightest problem.

Would you like to stop spreading false info?

Using nVidia cards for two years on Minecraft and not the slightest problem.

I'm just saying what I've been told. They can be made to work amazingly with Minecraft(I have 100 FPS! wewt!). Just apparently, switching Java to your graphics card can cause problems with 2D Java-based games.