The Technic Forums Occupation and Education Discussion Thread

Bloodwarrior99

I was just wondering what the difference of Technic and Tekkit was. I have been using Tekkit for the time being as I played on a server with my friends. Now that I am quite done doing that and might want to do another server with my friends I wanted to know what is different between Technic and Tekkit? They seem very similar, but I want to know why I should choose one or the other to play on.

Technic is composed of, in addition to or instead of the mods in Tekkit that will function together for multiplayer, mods that are either written only for single-player, or will not function on an MP server. In other words, Technic = SP (single-player) only, Tekkit = SP or MP, but designed for MP.

Edit: SG types more simply and therefore more quickly, which is funny, because I'm a mechanical engineer and he's a nuclear engineer.

Couldn't tell you, but half of our nuke program consists of mechanical classes. Lots of thermodynamics, fluid dynamics, hell even magnetohydrodynamics for the guys that take plasma classes.

I think it's more that those are interdisciplinary classes that happen to cross with mechanical a lot. Purely Mechanical Engineering classes are more in the range of Statics, Dynamics, and Mechanics of Materials (which I'm sure nuke program classes at least touch).

Couldn't tell you, but half of our nuke program consists of mechanical classes. Lots of thermodynamics, fluid dynamics, hell even magnetohydrodynamics for the guys that take plasma classes.

MoM! That's why I want to be a nukelear engineer like uncle Simpleguy!

Computer or Petroleum Engineer! Woot. Still haven't decided which but i'm definitely not doing civil (In that class for a semester, part of a 4 year engineering course thing from grades 9-12 that gives me a bit of each field. Next semester= electrical!)

Sooo...the mods have officially derailed a thread. Shall we rename it to disguise the problem?